Here We Go!

Standing in front of a classroom of 60 foreign students sounded scary before I got here, but on Monday morning it was beyond scary, it was utterly nerve-racking. Not only have I never taught a class a day in my life, the unknowns far supersede the known’s.

There were going to be 60 students staring me down, expecting to learn from me while I’m not sure what I have to teach. In addition, there was the added obstacle of my teaching partner. We meet on the first night of the camp and he seemed to not really care one ounce about the camp, he was here to have fun in Beijing and fly on my coat tails. Just keep adding on the pressure, why don’t you! After our initial meeting I discussed with him the only ideas I had for the first day, well he didn’t care to listen so, I guess that is what we are going to be doing.   

I got to class and shockingly enough there he stood, someone must have dragged him out of bed! He had no idea what the power point looked like or what activities we were going to be doing but at that point I really didn’t care, I wasn’t going to let my students down!

I vowed to myself at that moment that I was going to make the best of it not only for myself but for the students who were being forced to be here as well!

Surprisingly enough class went off without a hitch and it was the most rewarding day I have experienced in a long time! My students are unbelievable, I was so prepared for stone cold silence in the classroom but what I have are 59 boys and a single girl who are loud and energetic and fun!! In just one day they have become my precious little baby angels!

I learned on the first day more about myself then I ever could of in America. I took my first steps towards truly learning the art of 100% adaption and stress-free living! There is no second chance here, you make it work, and you fake it until you make it! I can’t wait to see what the rest of my time here will foster; I would project great things for my class and for myself! 

-Logan Dunn

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

